August 1, 2014

Incarcerated by Inger Iversen Cover Reveal & Giveaway


Incarcerated
Love and War Standalone
By- Inger Iversen 
Genre- Adult Contemporary Romance
Expected Publication Date- TBA

One of the few white kids in a rural Kentucky town, Logan Whyte always kept to his own kind out of self-preservation. He never considered himself racist, but that didn’t stop him from falling in with the wrong crowd that celebrated hate as much as he fought it - or from ending up in prison for eight years on an armed robbery charge.

A successful and educated black woman, Katie Andreassen is tired of being accused of betraying her own race. Her lonely isolation, coupled with her grief over losing her mother, inspire her to create a new pen pal program at Capshaw State Penitentiary, where her father is a warden.

The program brings together the unlikely pair, but Logan and Katie soon find themselves forced to overcome past fears and prejudices. Their friendship doesn’t come easily - threatened by a crooked lawyer with a grudge and a best friend who betrays her promise to help.

When faced with a world that forces them apart, Logan and Katie must show everyone else what they have discovered: that love is, in fact, colorblind.

July 28, 2014

Light in the Darkness Anthology Release Day Blitz

Today, I'm excited to reveal the cover of an anthology which includes a couple wonderful UtopYA authors. I can't wait to get my hands on this one. My ROW80 update is at the end of this post.


Thank you for checking out the cover reveal for the upcoming release of YA Anthology Light in the Darkness!


Publisher: Ivy Media Press
Cover Design by Airicka Phoenix of Airicka’s Mystical Creations

About Light in the Darkness

Being young is hard, especially with a rough home life. Not to mention if you have a special ability that sets you apart from others, leaving you feeling like an outsider, or the freak that no one understands. Living in the shadows doesn’t have to last forever. Only you can change the road you're on, just look within yourself and accept who you are. Once you do, you will find your Light in the Darkness.

Anthology Contributors:  JP Gibbs, Dennis Tyler, Emily Piland, Timothy L. Frasier, Will Overby, Tabitha Short, Elizabeth Loraine, Carlyle Labuschagne, DJ Shaw, Candy Crum, Stacie Wilson and Casey L. Bond

The e-book version of Light in the Darkness will release on August 11, 2014. All proceeds from this anthology will be donated to Literacy for Incarcerated Teens (LIT), a non-profit organization based in New York. 


A Round of Words in 80 Days (ROW80) Update

I finished the rough draft of my anthology at just over 20K. I'm so excited to see where the story goes, especially since I'm working with an amazing and talented group of ladies. Squee!

With all the writing, I did miss posting my ROW80 update yesterday, but I have kept up with my sponsor duties. Speaking of which, my sponsor post is live today: Easier Said Than Done. It was a very honest post, but I hope it still motivates.

I'm off to smooth out the rough edges of my anthology piece, so I can get it to my group by Wednesday. Next up, wrap up Chasing Forgiveness. No more excuses. Just butt in chair and writing.

Wishing everyone an amazing week! 

July 24, 2014

Figure Eight by Cassy Roop Release Day Launch

Today I'm sharing Cassy Roop's Release Day Launch...

Banner_RDL

::: Buy Links :::


20140527-091443-33283904.jpg 
_____________________________________________

001

Synopsis: Figure Eight- A strong, secure knot that jams under pressure. He was betrayed by the one person to loosen the knots of his control. She sacrificed her love to protect him. Blackmailed into destroying the man she desperately fell in love with, Ashley (Carter) Woodson tries desperately to cling to hope that Dominic will one day understand her reasons for her betrayal and stop the one person determined to keep them apart. False accusations send Dominic Michaels into a legal battle involving The Celtic Knot and emotional turmoil from the devastation that Ashley caused him. The battle between his head and his heart makes picking up the pieces of his life difficult while he fights to escape the haunting memories of the only woman to break his control. When outside forces conspire against them, will Dominic be able to unravel the ropes on his heart to trust Ashley again? What happens when love exists on the edge between finished and infinity
_____________________________________________

candle-ice teaser
    
cassy_roop

Author Bio: Cassy Roop is a lover of all things romance. An avid reader from a young age, it has always been a dream of hers to allow the characters that take solstice in her mind to have their own story. By day she is a daycare providing, group fitness instructing college student where she is studying graphic design. By night she is a contemporary/erotic romance author. She resides in Virginia with her husband and three kids.

::: Connect with the Author :::

_____________________________________________

*** Come Join Us on Release Day ***

Release Day FB party on Friday July 25th from 6:00-11:00 PM EST

Game! Prizes! And Guest Appearances!

10563510_10204487123282587_307429800_n

CLP_BANNER_FOR_PROFILE

July 23, 2014

Exciting Cover Puzzle & Giveaway from Eva Pohler & ROW80 Update

I'm so excited to share the latest from Eva Pohler today...

 GatekeepersSonsEbook Gatekeeper's Challenge Saga Gatekeeper's Daughter Saga ebook Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00023] GatekeepersSecretEbook Gatekeeper's Promise Cover reveal                      

Over two dozen prizes, including a $40 gift card of your choice and ebooks by your favorite authors, have been donated to help celebrate the reveal of the sixth and final book in The Gatekeeper's Saga. 

The rafflecopter giveaway is now live and will end on July 30th during the big Facebook event, where a handful of Olympians will host games and award even more prizes. Some of these prizes include signed paperbacks, audiobooks, the Athena Locket, and an "I'm a BOOK G[R]EEK" tote, button, and t-shirt. 

The July 30th Facebook Party will take place from 7 PM to 10 PM Central Standard Time. Please join us here.


  Gatekeeper's Promise Cover Reveal header 

Each day from now until the event, a new piece of the puzzle will be added to the cover, which was created by Melinda VanLone of Book Cover Corner.

  Gatekeeper's Promise Jigsaw Final Second Gatekeeper's Promise Jigsaw Final ThirdGatekeeper's Promise Jigsaw Final Fourth                                 
Then on July 30th and July 31st, book bloggers from all over the world will join me in posting the cover for all to see. You can enter the rafflecopter giveaway below. All books listed are ebook editions unless noted otherwise. 

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
*****

A Round of Words in 80 Days (ROW80) Update

I'm writing! It's such a wonderful feeling. When I get back in the groove, I always wonder why I ever stopped. I'm at almost 10K words on my anthology piece, and I've finally found a good groove. Yay!

Plus, I've kept up with blogging this week--both posting and reading. If I can stay in the groove, I should be back on track by the weekend so I can dive back into an edit. 

July 21, 2014

Glorious Giveaways

I wanted to take a moment this Monday morning to share a couple of giveaways with you.

First, the amazing Amy Jones is hosting a YA Podcast Birthday Bash Giveaway with over 30 eBooks!! The contest ends today (7/21/14), so please take a minute to enter here

Chasing Memories and Chasing Shadows eBooks are up for grabs.

I want to wish a happy first birthday to YA Podcast, which is now going to have YA VLog and YA Hangout components, too. Check it out while you are visiting to enter the giveaway.

Second, the organizers of the Sweet Yet Naughty Book Blog are running a UtopYA Swag Giveaway. Some Tala Prophecy swag, plus much more, is up for grabs.

Enter the Rafflecopter here

Good luck!

July 20, 2014

Awards, Summer & Puppies: ROW80

Happy Sunday!

I find marketing and self-promotion so difficult. It's not my comfort zone to talk about myself or my books, although I want them to do well and am quite proud of my work.

Last week, I found out Chasing Shadows is a Finalist in the Young Adult - Paranormal category for the 2014 Reader's Favorite Book Awards. I am thrilled, but it just now dawned on me to put it on my blog! 

One of these days, I'm going to hire a publicist. Until then, I need to be my own advocate and force myself to wear the marketing hat. I have no problem talking about other authors' books that I love. ARGH!

Please check out all the other finalists here.

Sunday is also my A Round of Words in 80 Days (ROW80) check-in day.

I'm almost 4,000 words into my anthology short story. I'm hoping to wrap it up this week. Now if only my puppies and children will create a serene environment for me to work in. *jerks back from the roaring laughter from everyone reading this post*

My goal is to blog Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Last week, I missed Friday. I have some big post-UtopYA plans for this blog, but summer is the worst time for big work plans. Since my other goal this round was to prioritize and make time, I really need to figure out my summer challenges. 

Overall, however, I'm managing to stay on top of things. I'll take it.

Since this just happened...


and my kids are still asleep, I better get back to work!

July 16, 2014

Between the Stars & Sky by David James Cover Reveal & ROW80 Update

Happy Wednesday! Today is A Round of Words in 80 Days (ROW80) check in day. I'll get to that; but first, I want to share an awesome cover with you. 

*****

Available this September, BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is a vivid contemporary novel from Young Adult author David James.  Lyrical and romantic, BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is a heart-stopping, contemporary read for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and David Levithan. 


SYNOPSIS: "In the small, lakeside town of Huntington, the Firelight Festival marks the end of summer. A time to laugh, to live, to love. And for Jackson Grant, it is a chance to begin again. 

But there is a darker side to the Firelight Festival, a deadly tradition known as the Firelight Fall. A secret game. A legendary lie. A test of bravery. Those who fall risk everything, and Jackson is on the edge. Until he meets a girl who pushes him over. 

For Jackson, falling for Sarah Blake might be as dangerous as jumping in the Firelight Fall. As summer burns away, Jackson and Sarah ignite an unstoppable love game. For her, his heart is on fire. And soon, Sarah shows him life, saves him from loss, and opens his heart to an infinite and wild love found between the stars and sky."

SEPTEMBER 2014
FIND THE PLACE WHERE LOVE IS INFINITE


David James writes books about stars and kisses and curses. He is the author of the YA novel, LIGHT OF THE MOON, the first book in the Legend of the Dreamer duet, as well as the companion novellas, THE WITCH'S CURSE and THE WARRIOR’S CODE. A Legend of the Dreamer anthology, SHADES OF THE STARS, was released July 2013, and includes the exclusive novella, THE ENCHANTER'S FIRE. The final book in the duet, SHADOW OF THE SUN, will be released in 2015. Living in Michigan, he is addicted to coffee, gummy things, and sarcastic comments. David enjoys bad movies, goofy moments, and shivery nights. Visit David’s blog at djamesauthor.blogspot.com and facebook at facebook.com/djamesauthor to learn more about his novels.


******

Pretty cool, huh?

Thanks to great productivity on Saturday--although I don't like working eight hours on a Saturday and I'm hoping my family forgives me--I was able to write the last few days. My total words for three days: 1,450. Slow, but steady. Hoping to do even better for the rest of the week.

Oh, and I'm finishing up an incredible beta read. Can't wait to share more about the book when it comes out!

How's everybody else doing?